Two Spaces, or Not Two Spaces? Is That a Question?

I learned Touch Type in high school, in the 80’s, on an actual manual typewriter.  You know the one, levers, inked ribbon, type face smashing a blobby letter onto paper, a hand cranked roller.  Two spaces after a period are hardwired into my brain.

In recent years I’ve discovered a campaign to squelch the two spaces in favor of a one space system.  While trying to drag myself into the 21st century, I have managed to mangle my brain into supplying a random number of spaces anywhere, even where none belong.  Thanks, internet!

Then, I found a bit of writer’s advice of dubious origin.  “Most publishing houses prefer two spaces.”  Eureka!  It’s not that I expect to ever be picked up by a major publishing house, but Hell if I’m going to change for a possible ‘fashion’ if 95% of my writing is going to be in manuscript form.

TWO SPACES, FOREVER!

FIGHT THE PATRIARCHY!

VIVE LE FRANCE!

ANARCHY!

FREE NELSON MANDELLA…

Wait.  I may have gotten carried away in my old age. Sorry.  (Not sorry!)

Word count on beta draft to date; 56,532.  Roughly averaging 2100 per day.  Unfortunately, I’m about a third into the pen & paper rough draft.  Either I hack&slash, divide into two books, or it’s an Epic-epic.  We shall see…

Next week: The Oxford Comma

Leave a Reply

