A Writer’s Apology…

Ok, this is not the blog ‘When is a Cock Not a Rooster’.  With the holiday screeching up on me like a Reaver on meth and Pop Rocks, I’m just doing a word count and a few musings. We will explore the confusing word of erotica next week. Sorry for being a… Rooster Tease?

With day job, parenting, holiday, housework, blah, blah, and blah, writing this week seemed a real struggle.  My daily goal is 2,000 and I was barely doing half last week, then a 22 word day happened.  Exhausted, I decided to take a couple of days off from writing, just to catch up on life. I closed the manuscript, put away the laptop, shelved my reference books, and just did all the other things.  The two days turned into four, catching up seemed to be farther away, but I did get on top of it all.  I decided I could write in the morning.

Morning came.  I wrote.  It was fun. Meditative. Restorative. Soothing.
I hit Word Count Goal in four hours. The next morning I hit it in three.

I didn’t realize how much I had begun to rely on the calm, otherworldly mental state I achieve during my writing.  It anchors me for the rest of the day.  If I had continued to write during those days, would I have been more patient? More balanced? Possibly.

I know it is impossible to consider every day a ‘writing day’, but I think I will be fighting for every one I can get ahold of, for my own sanity, as well as being a better person for my family and friends.  Word count to date is 117,188.  I’m not even going to calculate daily average.  I’m happy with the week for other reasons.

Please, everybody, enjoy the Holiday however you wish, whatever it is that you celebrate.  Hold the moment in time close to your heart.  Find a way to preserve it.  Catch it, forever a memory.  We will not walk this way, again.

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Writer’s Apology…

Leave a Reply

