Word Count Update #1: This is Normal…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAs a follow-up on last week’s post, here is week one of my word count goal of 500 words per day.  I chose this number because I thought it would not be too hard since I spent over a year with a 2,500 goal (a couple of years ago), but it’s high enough you must set aside some time or fail to meet it.  I’ve decided to post a log so people new to daily writing can see that this is a fluid goal.  Be flexible and bendy.  Be the bendy straw!  Or a plant that doesn’t need a garden, just a bit of dirt in a crack of a path. Do me a favor and be more like that plant, because I don’t have a picture of a bendy straw and don’t feel like taking one before I post this.

  • Day one.  Exceeded goal while writing a blog!  Win!  Didn’t publish it because it needs revision.  (Why am I using “should” and “need” and “must” in advice meant as helpful?  That is the way to send writers skulking off to social media instead of starting a daily writing goal.)
  • Day two.  Couldn’t write during day job, can’t ignore family, and realized I hadn’t written anything by the end of the day.  Oops!  Completely failed to reach goal.  Spent an hour on revision before bed.  (Still something wrong with the blog post.)
  • Day three.  Figured out Blog post, revised it, but had Wi-Fi trouble and didn’t post it. Kept sitting down to write, but family interrupted each time.  (None of us are used to this, yet.)  Failed to reach goal, but had some word count progress during revision.
  • Day four.  Hand wrote a page of revision ideas and scenes for novel-in-progress (about 140 words). Had an idea on posting a “difficulties of starting a word count goal” type article and started writing it at lunch break. (229 words).  Took another look at blog post, and decided to wait to post it. (Why?)  Failed goal by 131 words, but still vaguely please with progress
  • Day five.  Having second thoughts of usefulness of Word Count Update post.  Could it really help anyone or simply make me look like a fool.  (Uncomfortably aware that people may read what I am typing right this second…  Decide I can fix it in editing.) Added 60-ish words to this post, but did no other writing.  Work and family time left me too dysfunctional for anything but social media browsing.  Ignored the blog post.  Hard fail on word count goal.  <shrug>
  • Day six.  Revised verb tenses on original Word Count blog, but still not happy.  Dug into notes for a new blog post about vampires, to save as backup for when I’m back to posting regularly.  (Also hiding in the world of words from crappy life stuff.)  Word count for the day is 574.  Win!
  • Day seven.  Nothing written today except this entry. Life crap is at a new low.  Word count fail. I suck.

For the week that gives me two days of meeting the goal, three of failure, and two of some progress.  That is more than two days worth of writing that pushes me toward being a better writer that I didn’t have before.  I am pleased, even with the failures.  They show me where I need to work to get daily writing back into my life.  Don’t be afraid of your failures. Use them.

Also, you are a writer.  You don’t fear words–even words like failure–you command them. 

If you found some use for this, either as inspiration or just amusement, click the like button here or on Facebook, and I’ll continue the series.  Here is update #2.

4 thoughts on “Word Count Update #1: This is Normal…

Leave a Reply

