Word Count Update #4: But I Don’t Want To Write Today!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERABack again?  Seriously, are y’all still reading this?  All right.  Let’s muck about in my brain and get our feet dirty.

  • Day twenty-two.  A crazy day at the day job paired with trying to get the blog out sucked up my day.  Re-edited #2 a thousand times, took 42 photos to get a few decent shots, re-edited a couple of thousands times more, then took a deep breath and hit “publish.”  It made me sick to my stomach, but I kept going with my day.  I call this day a Failure on word count, but an author win!
  • Day twenty-three.  Wrote a blog about the Bechdel-Wallace test with 560 words.  Word count goal WIN!  Had some fun conversations with other writers on Facebook.  I was reminded of a blog I wrote a year ago, about the merits of outlining.  A good day to be a writer.
  • Day twenty-four.   Wow, my motivation has completely left me.  I know I need to write something–ANYTHING–but can’t find the urge.  Not on e-mail, Facebook, Twitter, articles I’ve saved…  I think we have a Fail.
  • Day twenty-five.  Urg.  Emotional stuff has me in the doldrums.  No motivation to write, unless it’s some super-secret-my-eyes-only journaling.  (Ended up venting about 600 words, so goal Win.  I figure it’s a form of communication, even if it’s only with myself.)
  • Day twenty-six.  A blog written about how cool my writing friends are.  Seriously, y’all rock!  Anyway, goal Win, with 502 words.
  • Day twenty-seven.  Urg.  Today’s chosen blog topic only netted 321 words, so I’m short and too tired to think of another.  I may have done enough additional writing on some of the other blogs, but it’s too hard to count words during revision.  Technically it’s a goal Fail, but only in the strictest sense.  I definitely wrote today.
  • Day twenty-eight.  Caring for an elderly and failing pet has left me without anything in my head but worry.  No writing.  Fail.

Officially it’s three wins to four fails, but two of those fails were only technical.  In essence I spent five days of this week feeling like a writer, and that feels pretty damn good.

For the month that is ten wins and eighteen fails, but on a lot of those fail days I was still making progress. I also have a nice stable of blogs to post once they get some revision.  My motivation is now good, and taking the time to write is becoming easier.    I’m hoping to do better in the next few weeks.  If you missed the purpose of this little experiment here’s the original post, and updates #1, #2, #3.

Committing to writing isn’t easy.  Successful writers are the ones who don’t quit forever.  You may stumble, or stop completely for a while, but if the words keep pushing their way out, try to give them an outlet.  Give yourself permission to tell your stories; you are the only one who can.

If you are one of my writing friends who doesn’t have this particular problem I’ll try to start posting more interesting content.  Meanwhile, give yourself a nice pat on the back, have a treat, and keep an eye out for the rest of us to catch up.  (It is so hard to not say something really, really snarky to y’all.  Bless your hearts.)

I didn’t plan on extending this update series past week #4, but I hope it gave you a chance to snicker at a writer in “action”.  Frankly, it’s going to be more of the same slog; good days, bad days, and in-between days.  I don’t think I can keep these updates going without it sounding like incessant whining about being a writer, and that’s not fair because I do love it.  I’ll keep track of my goal, but I may not post updates.

Happy writing!

One thought on “Word Count Update #4: But I Don’t Want To Write Today!

Leave a Reply

