Slow Writing

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERARevision of the short story is going slow.  I can only manage one scene per morning, no matter how much time I actually have to write.  Also, WTF is with only able to write in the morning?  I used to be able to write any time of day.  Now, my brain seems to be fried baloney by noon and I end up on social media, or reading emails and blogs.

AND the story I liked and thought I had a pretty good handle on?  The revision is bigly different, and much better, I think.  I don’t know.  Crap!

Sorry if this is all tedious to you.  Since I am only in my fourth year of writing seriously, with expected results and an eye toward publishing, I seem to be struggling with my methods.  I know that each story requires different things, but GEEEZZZ!

On top of all that, and a busy week at the day job, an online writing fest has caught my eye.  Another un-paid Horror gig, but you have to get your name out there, right?  Right?  Fortune favors the bold?  Anything less feels like standing still.  I’m not sure how I can pull together something good in less than two weeks, let alone scary, but I can’t stop thinking about it.

Seriously, what is with me writing Horror all the sudden?  I gave up reading it in my twenties because I like to sleep at night.  Maybe writing it won’t have the same effect, but can I really expect to produce good work if I’m not reading the genre?  A lot of the on-line writer friends I’ve made are horror writers, and I need to read and review their work to help support them.  I foresee a lot of sleeping with the lights on in my future.

Either way, I think I’m about to get too many plates in the air, spinning all at once.  Listen for the crash!

Let me go find something useful to do, instead of all this angsty writer feels.

Happy writing.

One thought on “Slow Writing

  1. I completely relate. I really do.
    I have found my writing bending toward Horror more and more, but a lot of the Authors I follow are into the “Goror” scene; extreme, they call it. I find I cannot bend that far.
    As for the Anthologies, I am submitting for some unpaid calls, too. Getting one’s name out there is crucial, so ‘they’ say. Between calls for short stories, I try to further the Fantasy/Adventure story that is “The Barbarian” or “Barbarian Tales,” I haven’t decided on the actual title yet. I started that one in 2010 and still have not succeeded a Novel-worthy word count.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

